Select Page

Ring Camera Reviews

Comprehensive Look at Ring Security Camera Best Buys for 2023

Ring Security Camera Reviews – Introduction

 

The Ring security camera line-up is one of the most popular wireless Wi-Fi security camera systems on the market.

Owned by Amazon, the system is designed to work seamlessly with Alexa…and most Ring security system reviews indicate that the Ring camera system functions nearly flawlessly when set up properly

First, we will take a closer look at a few of their offerings in various categories of the Ring camera system – the indoor Ring camera, outdoor Ring cameras, and Ring video doorbells.

Finally, we will wrap things up with a brief overview of the Ring security system and summarize our overall take on the Ring camera system.

Pressed for time? Our quick jump table of contents will take you to the sections most pertinent to your interests.

 

Evaluating Ring Security Cameras

Ring Camera System Top 5 “Must Have” Features

 

Top 5 Features to consider when buying a security camera - Infographic

 

When evaluating the Ring Camera System, there are certain features that Ring Security Cameras must have to be considered competitive in today’s home security camera market.

These features are:

  • Motion Activated – The Best Security Cameras have motion sensors that trigger when the camera records
  • Resolution – Modern security cameras typically offer 1080P resolution.
  • Night Vision – Top security cameras are equipped with infrared LED lights to illuminate images in low or no light conditions.
  • Field of Vision –  The area that is covered by the camera…should be at least 120°.
  • Two-Way Talk – The ability to speak and hear through the camera is now a fairly standard feature.

 

While there are cheaper options, Ring security cameras incorporate all these features and offer more sophisticated motion detection and a larger field of vision than much of the competition.

Follow Us

How We Rank – Disclaimer

HSA How We Rank Home Security Companies A

 

The rankings and ratings expressed on this site are the opinion of www.thehomesecurityadvisor.com and are subject to change. To keep this valuable service free, we generate advertising revenue from the companies featured in our rankings. Disclosure: The Home Security Advisor participates in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for publishers to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites. Learn More.

 

Ring Camera Reviews – 2023 Editor’s Ring Security Cameras Summary Review

 

 

Editor's Ring Security Cameras Summary Review
Ring Camera Reviews - Ring Wireless Stick Up Cam

Name: Ring Security Cameras Review

Description: Summary Review of Ring Cameras

Summary

Although they may carry a somewhat premium price tag, they are chock full of features that meet consumer demand.

Pros

  • 1080P
  • Alexa Compatible
  • Premium Feature Set
  • Can be Professionally Monitored

Cons

  • Pricey
  • Local Monitoring NOT Available
  • Set Up - 8.5/10
    8.5/10
  • Ease of Use - 8/10
    8/10
  • Features - 9/10
    9/10
  • Design - 8/10
    8/10
  • Price and Value - 7.5/10
    7.5/10
Overall
8.2/10

 

Ring Indoor Camera Review

Ring Indoor Camera Review

Ring vs Blink - Ring Indoor Camera with Alexa

  

Ring Indoor Cam

N

155 Degree FOV

N

180P HD Video

N

Adjustable Motion Detection

 

 

 

 

 Indoor Ring Camera Review Summary

 

 

When it comes to indoor cameras, the Ring camera system can include entry-level wi-fi cameras that are available in either battery-operated models or traditional plug-in power sources. The wired Ring Indoor Camera comes in at $59.99.

Both cameras deliver crystal clear images with 1080P HD resolution. If you are thinking about investing in a Ring security camera system, this is likely one of your primary concerns.  While there are a number of 4K cameras in the marketplace, 1080P is sufficient for most uses.

They also offer completely wireless, battery-powered indoor and outdoor Ring cameras, with a variety of mounting options.

In addition to night-vision and two-way talk, they both include motion detection.  This is critical as motion will trigger the camera to record and send notifications to your smartphone through their respective mobile app.

The clips can be stored in the Cloud and when you purchase a Ring camera system you get a free month of storage and have additional programs available for $3.99 /mo. per camera (or $10/mo. for unlimited cameras). An annual pre-paid subscription is available that gives you two months free.  $40 per camera or unlimited for $100. 

 

Ring Wireless Stick Up Cam

Ring Wireless Stick Up Cam

 

Ring does not offer local storage capability. However, the video quality is very good and, in addition to a bit more sophisticated motion detection, the Ring Stick Up Cam does offer a wide 140º Field of View. This is a good option if you want to use your Ring camera outdoors.

And if you are looking to add an outdoor ring camera to your smart home, but, don’t want to hardwire or have to change batteries very often, a Ring Solar Panel can be attached.  

 

 Ring Security Camera – Indoor/Outdoor

Ring Outdoor Camera Review

 

 

Ring Outdoor Camera Review

Blink vs Ring Review - Ring Outdoor Cam

  

Ring Outdoor Cam

N

140 Degree FOV

N

Remote Activated Siren

N

8 LED Spotlights

 

Ring Outdoor Cameras Review Summary

 

 

Moving on to Ring outdoor cameras… ther are a variety of outdoor video monitoring solutions.

As previously mentioned the  Ring Stick Up can be used indoors, but it is also rated for outdoor use.  It is typically available for $99.99-but, to store footage, be aware that a monthly subscription is required.

Ring vs Blink - Ring Floodlight Camera

Ring Floodlight Camera

In addition, the Ring Outdoor Spotlight Camera seen above is a self-contained outdoor camera with built-in LED lights that generate 2000 lumens. It has all the standard features as well as an internal siren that can be remotely activated by the user after receiving a notification and determining that there is a threat.

Pretty neat feature…and the total is $199.99.

Ring outdoor cameras come in both hard-wired and wireless configurations. Check out the great hard-wired  Ring Outdoor Camera with spotlights,  below.

 

If you are looking for Ring Cameras for outdoor use, but don’t want to change batteries or hire an electrician to wire them…Ring security cameras have solar charging options as well. Additional models and options can be seen at the bottom of the page.

 

 

Common Ring Outdoor Camera Questions

 

 

How well does the night vision work without a spotlight on the Ring outdoor camera?

 

Ring outdoor security cameras have PIR night vision that works within 25 or 30 feet. As long as the area that you wish to monitor is within that range…they work fine.

 

Ring Outdoor Cameras- How well do they withstand the elements?

 

The Ring outdoor camera is weatherproof and designed to work in reasonably temperate weather. However, in particularly cold environments, keep in mind that battery function will suffer.

 

Also,  it is always a best practice to try and mount the camera under the eaves or an overhang if possible.  This will help protect your Ring outdoor cameras from the elements.

 

 

 

 

 Ring Outdoor Camera – Spotlight

Ring Video Doorbell Review

 

 

Ring Video Doorbell Review

Ring vs Blink Review - Ring Video Doorbell

  

Ring Video Doorbell

N

140 Degree FOV

N

Remote Activated Siren

N

8 LED Spotlights

 

 

Ring Video Doorbell Overview

 

Ring pretty much pioneered the video doorbell industry about 10 years ago when they introduced the “DoorBot”.

They certainly haven’t rested on their laurels since… and after rebranding as Ring, they have gone on to expand their Ring Video Doorbell product line to include a variety of indoor and outdoorRing cameras, along with their line of Ring security and automation products.

When evaluating the Ring Camera system line-up, the Ring Video Doorbell dominates most of the competition.

All Ring security cameras are, of course, Alexa compatible…and come with a Free Trial of their respective Cloud storage for video clips…

The starting price of the standard Ring Video Doorbell higher than some of the competion. (currently $99.99)  However, it offers a wider field of vision and superior, customizable motion detection.

But Ring doesn’t stop there, they offer a full range of video doorbells  that include advanced features such as:

  • Dual Wi-Fi Band Connectivity
  • Interchangeable Face Plates
  • Hot-Swappable Removeable Battery Packs
  • Power over Ethernet Connection
  • Professional Installation

With prices ranging from $99 to  $349, there is something to fit every budget of the more discerning consumer looking for next-generation technology.

Additional models and options can be seen at the bottom of the page.

 Ring Video Doorbell 

Ring Security System Review

The Advantage of a Ring Camera System

 

While they started off with just the Ring video doorbell, it wasn’t long before they decided to offer a complete Ring Camera System to meet consumer demand. They quickly added the Ring indoor security cameras to the line-up and followed that up with a series of Ring outdoor cameras.

That has now evolved into a complete ecosystem that can encompass home automation, security, and video monitoring. No Ring camera review would be complete without at least some mention of the Ring security system.

However, our Blink vs Ring comparison would be remiss without at least mentioning the Ring Alarm System. We will review it more thoroughly sometime in the near future.Blink vs Ring - Ring Alarm System

In a nutshell, the Ring Alarm is a very basic wireless security system that will seamlessly support the full line-up of Ring products. While it can function as a completely self-monitored system, it can be professionally monitored 24/7 for protection from police, fire, and medical emergencies.

While this is not a full-blown Ring security system review, we feel the Ring Protect Pro is a reasonably good value at just $20/month.

While we feel that there are better home security systems out there, it gives the Ring security camera system customer an opportunity to easily expand a camera system into a fully integrated home security system that utilizes the same platform and integrates it seamlessly.

 

 

Ring Alarm vs the Competition

 

A few advantages of combining Blink with one of our top-rated security companies would be:

  • Experience – The best home security companies have many years of experience in supporting their products and protecting hundreds of thousands of families. They specialize in security. Ring is a brand new player.
  • Equipment – The equipment offered by top alarm companies is superior and built by established suppliers.
  • Professional Install Capability– Some of our top picks install the system- if you are uncomfortable with the DIY approach.
  • Professional Monitoring – All of our best home security companies have 5 Diamond Rated monitoring stations with multiple redundancies.
  • Smash and Grab Protection –  Top-rated alarm companies offer some sort of crash and smash protection that prevents an intruder from just destroying the base unit so it can’t send a signal…

 

If you are contemplating doing more than cameras, these are but a few reasons why it makes sense to look into a company that specializes in home security before making a decision.

Ring can be used in conjunction with any security and home automation system.  It just means managing the cameras through a separate app.

While Ring might offer a bit more convenience and a cheaper solution…it may not be the best way to provide security to protect your home and family.

It may make sense to get your cameras from Ring…but look into one of the  Top Ranked Security Companies for home security that you can count on.  We have provided our security company selection tool to help you narrow down the choices.

 

The Ring Alarm System

 

Not sure if Ring

is right for you?

 

Check Out Some Options

Take Our Simple Quiz to find your

 

Best Home Security Company Alternative

 

 

 

Ring Camera Review Summary

Ring Camera Review - Is the Ring Security Camera System Worth it? Video Summary

Ring Camera Review Summary

Ring Camera Review-Are Ring Security Cameras Worth it?

 

When evaluating the Ring Camera System, there are certain features that Ring Security Cameras that make them competitive in today’s home security camera market.

 

These Ring security camera features are:

 

Motion Activated – Ring Security Cameras are equipped with adjustable motion detectors that activate recording when something comes within a range of 30’.

Resolution – Ring home security cameras offer 1080P resolution for crisp, clear video footage.

Night Vision – Ring cameras are equipped with infrared LED lights to illuminate images in low or no light conditions.

Field of Vision –  The area that is covered by the camera, of Ring Video Camera is greater than the industry average of 120°.

Two-Way Talk – Both indoor and outdoor Ring camera systems provide the ability to speak and hear through the camera.

 

The Ring Security Camera App, Ring Always Home, works very well…with ratings of 4.0 stars on Google Play and 4.6 at the Apple Store.

Online Ring camera reviews are overall very positive.

In summary, we feel that, while more expensive them some other options… if you are seeking a premium wireless camera system our Ring Camera Review finds that they offer value that justifies a higher price tag.

Why Trust This Ring Security Camera Review?

 

Looking for Ring Camera Reviews to decide if the Ring Camera is worth it?

 

Why you can rely on The Home Security Advisor Reviews to help sort it out.

 

When it comes to personal safety and security…industry experience counts.

Mike HSAWhile many sites employ journalists and writers, Mike, The Home Security Advisor, spent 20+ years in the trenches of the home security industry. Working for 2 of the largest home security companies in the nation, he has spent thousands of hours in the homes and living rooms of people just like you- listening to their concerns and helping them find the best security solutions to address their needs.

The Home Security Advisor was developed as a resource to share these insights and help our readers simplify the sometimes difficult task of finding the best products and solutions for anyone looking to enhance their lives and better protect their homes and families.

 

What makes The Home Security Advisor’s Ring Camera Reviews different?

 

When you are trying to sort out the differences between popular security cameras, it isn’t easy trying to pick which one is just right for you and your family.

To make it more confusing, there is a myriad of product reviews out there comparing them.  Which one do you listen to?

Here are just some of the reasons The Home Security Advisor should be your “go-to”  resource when you are looking into personal and home security products and services.

 

Features of the Best Ring Camera Reviews

 

 

Hands-On Ring Security Camera Reviews

 

Many of the products we review are items that we have been sent for evaluation or even chosen to purchase for our own use. In this case, we will soon be getting our hands on a ring camera system so we can provide a hands-on experience.

We review hundreds of personal and home security products and companies and thousands of customer reviews so we can lay out both the good and the bad when we evaluate home security cameras …or any other products or services.

When this isn’t practical, we research items thoroughly online and may scrutinize hundreds of customer reviews to better assess the actual owner experience.

In many cases, we provide additional sections of important things to consider to help you determine whether Ring cameras or Blink security cameras make the most sense for your situation.

 

Quick Link TOC – Easily Find Review of the Ring Security Camera You Want

 

We try to be as thorough as possible in reviewing products and companies.  However, we recognize that your time is valuable and you may not always have time to get into all the “nitty-gritty” of all the factors we analyze regarding home security cameras.

Consequently, we make it easy to jump ahead by inserting direct links Table of Contents that get you right to the sections that you are most interested in.

 

Common Ring Camera System Q+As

 

You have questions…we have answers.  When reviewing  Ring security cameras, we do our best to anticipate and answer the most common questions that potential security camera buyers might have.

 

Ring Security Camera Video Summaries

 

Some people are more visual…so we frequently provide video summaries. Coming soon, in this review of Ring security cameras and video doorbells, you’ll find a handy video summary that outlines the most important factors you need to know to find the best Ring security camera for you.

 

Forum for Customer Reviews – Are Ring Cameras Worth it? 

 

We make it easy to see how actual customers feel about their experiences with Ring cameras.  You can share your Ring security camera reviews in our comment section and see how others feel about their products as well.

Are there any contracts with a Ring Camera System ?

While there is no contract with a Ring Security Camera System,  it does require monthly storage if you wish to save video clips.

Is the Ring Camera App good?

Ring Always Home

 

The Ring security camera App, fairs very well in Ring camera reviews.

Ring Camera App ratings:

Ring Always Home

  • Google Play – 4.0 Stars
  • Apple Store –  4.6 Stars

 

Can I Store Video Clips Locally with a Ring Camera System?

Unlike Blink, there is no means of storing video locally.

One must subscribe to cloud storage in order to save video footage.

Is there a monthly fee for a Ring Camera?

There is no fee required with a Ring Camera System.  It will still give you instant notifications and allow you to remotely view the cameras.

However, if you want to be able to record video clips, a monthly subscription is required.

As of July 1, 2022, the Ring Basic subscription increased from $3 / mo. per camera, to $3.99 / mo. per camera.  (or you can save $7.98 and pre-pay for a year for $39.99)

This 25% increase does include an extension of the available storage availability from 60-180 days.  It is important to note, that you must change the default 60 Day setting, in the Ring Always Home App to 180 days.  Only clips recorded AFTER the setting has been changed will be stored for 180 days.

The Ring Plus subscription is $10 / mo. (or $100 annually) and will include all your Ring Cameras.  It includes the added benefit of extending the warranty to all your devices.

If you purchase the Ring Security System, The Ring Pro plan will also provide 24/7 alarm monitoring for $20 /mo. (or $200 annually)

Are outdoor Ring cameras waterproof?

Ring security cameras for outdoor use are water resistant.  While they are made to withstand normal weather conditions, they should not be submerged in water.

How far can Ring security camera detect motion?

The motion detectors on Ring home security cameras are rated for 30 feet.

Can Ring security cameras see at night?

All Ring cameras are equipped with IR bulbs that provide night vision illumination for up to 30 feet.

 

 

Ring Security Cameras and Alarm Systems

 

Below are some of their current offerings, as well as competitor offerings for comparison.

 

Prices pulled from the Amazon Product Advertising API on:

 

 

Thank you for your interest in this review of the  Ring camera system.  We hope you find our Ring Camera Reviews helpful.  If you found it useful, please don’t hesitate to like or share this material with those you care about.

If you’ve had experiences with any of the Ring security camera products and would like to share your Ring camera review with our readers, feel free to leave your thoughts in the comments section.

Best Home Security Systems

Side by Side Comparisons of the Top Security Systems 

Visitor Comments and Ring Camera Reviews

One Response

  1. The Home Security Advisor January 17, 2023

Leave a Reply

Sending

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Last Updated on January 17, 2023 by The Home Security Advisor

Ring Camera Reviews was last modified: January 17th, 2023 by The Home Security Advisor
Find YOUR Ideal Home Security SystemTake Short Quiz

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This
Frontpoint Security Promo